Pages Navigation Menu

Daily Dutch News in English

Amsterdam to host MTV Europe Music Awards

Amsterdam will be the host city for this year’s anniversary edition of the MTV European Music Awards. Following the success of last year’s show in Frankfurt, Germany – where the likes of PSY and Taylor Swift took the to stage – this year’s bash is set to take place at the stunning new Ziggo Dome in Amsterdam.

The 2013 MTV Europe Music Awards bring the pop circus to Amsterdam on Sunday November 10th, 2013. Big names in the music industry will come to Amsterdam to attend the EMAs and celebrate the 20th anniversary of the MTV music awards.

Each year the MTV EMA celebrates the biggest names in music from every corner of the globe and showcases unbelievable performances from today’s most exciting acts. It has been hosted four times in Germany and the United Kingdom, most recently in Frankfurt, Germany, hosted by Heidi Klum in 2012 and previously in London, Edinburgh and Liverpool.

Dan Ligtvoet, Managing Director, VIMN Northern Europe said: “I am thrilled to see the MTV EMA return to my home country, the Netherlands. Amsterdam already served as the backdrop for the legendary MTV Europe launch party at the Roxy and we will make sure that, with this year’s MTV EMA, the citizens of Amsterdam and the entire Netherlands will be treated again to a star-studded music extravaganza – which at the same time will allow us to showcase our Dutch audiences’ zest and enthusiasm across the globe.”

Vice Mayor of the City of Amsterdam, Carolien Gehrels commented: “We are honoured that Amsterdam has been selected to host the 2013 MTV EMAs. This is great news for the city for a number of reasons: it promises to be an exciting event for young people and music lovers in the city, it will provide opportunities for businesses in these difficult economic times and it will allow Amsterdam to raise its international profile. A great event at an ideal moment.”

The 2013 MTV EMA will be broadcast internationally on more than 60 channels and seen by about 700 million households.

Last year the event took place in Frankfurt. With a record number of viewers. In the past, Beyonce, Katy Perry, Taylor Swift, Jay-Z, Rihanna, Green Day, Madonna, Justin Bieber, Shakira, No Doubt, Kanye West, Selena Gomez, Bon Jovi, Alicia Keys, Tokio Hotel, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Kings of Leon, U2, Coldplay, Prince and Lady Gaga performed on stage.

The awards once took place before in the Netherlands: in 1997 in Ahoy Rotterdam.