Pages Navigation Menu

Daily Dutch News in English

Dutch swimmer Inge de Bruijn voted best swimmer

Inge de Bruijn was voted best swimmer of the past decade. The Dutch four-time Olympic champion received the most votes in an election of the international swimming federation FINA.

More than two hundred affiliated national federations and swim a panel of world’s most recognized swimming experts gave Inge De Bruijn 27.9 percent of the votes, slightly more than the Ukrainian Jana Klotsjkova.

De Bruijn (36) won the 2000 Olympics in Sydney with three gold medals and added another gold at the Olympics in Athens 2004. She also won two silver and two bronze medals in past Olympics and captured five world titles. Klotsjkova is four-time Olympic champion.

Edith van Dijk was the second women’s open water swim. She had the Russian Larisa Iltjsenko contract which expires. Water polo star Danielle de Bruijn, Olympic champion in 2008, received 13.5 percent of the vote, good for third place.

The “FINA Aquatics World Magazine” has elected the best athletes of the decade in all aquatic disciplines. The official FINA Magazine has launched this election process in February 2010: the 202 FINA National Member Federations and the most appreciated aquatic experts could vote for the best ones between 2000 and 2009.