Pages Navigation Menu

Daily Dutch News in English

Apple to launch iPhone 4 in the Netherlands Friday

The Apple iPhone 4 will launch in the Netherlands on Friday, July 30.

Apple’s iPhone 4 will be available in 17 more countries this Friday, July 30. iPhone 4 features FaceTime, which makes video calling as easy as one tap, Apple’s new Retina display, the highest resolution display ever built into a phone, resulting in stunning text, images and video, and a beautiful all-new design of glass and stainless steel that is the thinnest smartphone in the world.

Beginning this Friday, customers can purchase iPhone 4 in Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Hong Kong, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, New Zealand, Singapore, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. iPhone 4 will be available for purchase through Apple’s retail and online stores and Apple Authorized Resellers.

The iPhone 4 first launched in the U.S., France, Germany, Japan and the U.K. in late June. The new Apple device in The Netherlands costs at the cheapest monthly subscription for a two-year contract 169.95 euros, with a contract period of one year is 359.95 euros. In total, the customer can choose from four possible subscriptions for the iPhone.

Apple’s rollout of the iPhone 4 represents the fastest international handset ramp-up yet for the Cupertino, Calif., company. It is expected to launch the iPhone 4 in 87 total countries by the end of September, a pace much faster than many who closely watch the company expected.

Though Apple is an American company, the international market has come to play a very important role for the iPhone maker. During last week’s quarterly earnings conference call, Chief Operating Officer Tim Cook said the company’s overseas numbers were “absolutely killer.”

Apple’s international expansion of the iPhone 4 on Friday will come just a week after one of the company’s other blockbuster portable devices, the iPad, also saw its overseas market presence increase. Last Friday the iPad went on sale in nine new countries, many of which will also receive the iPhone 4 this week: Austria, Belgium, Hong Kong, Ireland, Luxembourg, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand and Singapore.